6/107: cookies

I am shamelessly in love with citrus. Lately, much to my surprise, my tastes have changed such that on any given day I would take something lemon based than chocolaty.

This is why, after a few days of dinners being prepared in the name of the quest, I decided to make the cookies that appear in Jamie’s Food Revolution. I have flipped through this book countless times and some of the recipes leap off the page and scream “Prepare me! Eat me! You simply must!” This has never been one of them. To be quite honest, I was going to skip this recipe entirely but eventually I decided against it.

It was Sunday afternoon and despite a taking long walk after breakfast, I was feeling pretty lazy. Tea was in order; a lot of it. And a good book; this one.

Therefore:

tea + good book + Sunday x THE QUEST= make the cookies that don’t look like much so I can have something to dip in the tea and then eat while I read on Sunday

There was a plain option to the cookie recipe, a chocolate option and a citrus option. Given my current love for the fresh, clean flavours of citrus, I chose to grate the zest of an orange and a lemon into the batter. Much to my surprise, these cookies were simple in the most pleasant way and were served their purpose well when dipped into my milky tea.

RECIPE FOR COOKIES

makes about 15 cookies

For the citrus cookies

9 tbsp of butter

1/2 cup superfine sugar

1 large egg

1 cup of all-purpose flour

1/4 cup quick cook oatmeal

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 orange

1 lemon

To make your cookie dough:

Take the butter out of the refrigerator 15 minutes before you start so it has time to soften a bit first. Put it into a mixing bowl with the sugar and mix with the wooden spoon until you get a thick, creamy consistency. Crack your egg into another bowl and beat it with a fork, then add it to the butter and sugar mixture and mix well. Sift your flour into the bowl to remove any lumps, add the oats, baking powder, and salt, and mix until lovely and smooth. Finely grate your orange and lemon zest into the batter and stir in until mixed through. Spoon dough onto a sheet of plastic wrap and roll into a sausage shape with a roughly 2 1/2 inch diameter. Put the dough in the freezer for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Get your chilled dough out of the freezer and cut it into 1/4 inch thick slices. Place these on two non-stick cookie sheets, making sure you leave a good bit of space between slices because they’ll spread while cooking. Place the cookie sheets in the middle of your preheated oven and bake for 8 to 10 minutes, until the edges of the cookies turn golden brown. Let them cool slightly before transferring to a wire rack to let cool and completely crisp up.

Enjoy dipped in tea or a glass or milk.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “6/107: cookies

  1. Dale

    yours look better than Jamies

Leave a Reply

