rhubarb curd over ricotta cheese at night

After returning home earlier than expected from work and finding a wilting bundle of farmers market rhubarb in the back of my fridge, I thought I’d take a stab at making rhubarb curd. Now I love lemon curd passionately and therefore am generally pretty welcoming to any member of the curd family but I had never thought to make a rhubarb curd.

I was inspired into making my concoction by a recipe within a recipe for Rhubarb Curd Shortbread from Food 52 but instead of putting it over shortbread, I wanted to put it on top of the remaining ricotta cheese I had in my fridge.

It was wildly simple not to mention delicious and it’s making me sad that rhubarb season is such a short time of the year. Now I’m wracking my brain thinking of all of the other things I could curd. I will never eat anything uncurded in my life.

Perhaps a bit rash? You won’t know until you make this curd yourself.

Recipe for rhubarb curd

About six stalks of rhubarb

4 tablespoons of water

1/4 cup of sugar

4 egg yolks

1/3 cup plus 1/8 cup of sugar

1 tsp lemon zest

2 tsp lemon juice

3 tbsp of butter, cut into chunks

Wash the rhubarb and trim as little of the ends of as possible. Cut the rhubarb into 1 inch chunks. In a small saucepan, heat the water, rhubarb and sugar on medium heat until the rhubarb is stringy and broken down where no whole chucks remain. Use either an immersion blender to puree the mixture or push through a strainer (I used a magic bullet).

Add a couple of inches of water to a double boiler and set over medium heat. Put egg yolks, butter, sugar, lemon zest and lemon juice in the bowl that sits above the double boiler. Whisk to combine until the sugar has dissolved and then add the rhubarb puree by the spoonful. Stir between each spoonful to temper the egg yolks. When all the rhubarb has been added, set the bowl above the simmering water. Stir for five minutes or so over the heat or until the mixture has thickened and coats a metal spoon.

Let cool a bit and then store in a jar. If you’re extra smart. pour over ricotta cheese and eat it too fast to take a picture of it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

