gastronomic goal no. 4: make pizza totally from scratch

I’ve been eating a lot of cooked tomatoes in the name of crossing off another gastronomic goal and realized that in the process I could make pizza from scratch and cross that one off too.

Now the title of this post is a little bit of a misnomer because in reality to make a pizza totally from scratch would mean not only making the dough but growing the tomatoes for the sauce, making the mozzarella and growing the basil to finish it. I fully intend to do this one day but for now I thought that making the dough and growing the basil would sufficiently meet the demands of ‘scratch.’

At the beginning of the spring I happily went with my mother to a garden centre and bought myself three potted herbs to go with a small pot of assorted baby herbs I had already been growing in my window sill. While I don’t have a green thumb, I cared for them and watched as they grew.

The one I was most exited for was the basil which was the smallest of the herbs and also my favourite. In my mind’s eye I imagined the basil leaves on a homemade Neapolitan pizza and waited excitedly until there were enough of them to harvest.

Then the day came and, using Jim Lahey’s pizza dough recipe and this guide to making Neapolitan pizza, I made a pizza from scratch.

Sure it was nothing special. Crushed San Marzano tomatoes, mozzarella, dough and finally a few little basil leaves. But it’s still a gastronomic goal completed.

Now all I have to do is learn to actually like cooked tomatoes and that will be another one. I’m getting there though. Slow and steady.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

